U14's Continue Winning Habit

In this game, played in Hamilton Park on Saturday last, Sligo’s U14 rugby team was once again victorious in the North Connacht League. On this occasion the visitors to the club were the U14 boys from Ballinrobe RFC.

This game, delayed for a week due to poor weather, was played in cool but very good conditions.

Martin Davey playing at loose head prop captained the Sligo team. They put in a fine performance for the entire sixty minutes of play. The forwards totally dominated the opposing pack. Their physical strength was used to good effect in the ruck and their scrummaging was also top class. When they carried the ball to the opposition they cleverly held onto it with some good mauling. They used this tactic to good effect to gain ground and advance the gain line.

The backs played with a mobility that was impressive. They were always alert and moved the ball quickly and accurately along the back-line. Support play for the ball carrier was good and this resulted in a lot of offensive play. Panic ensued in the Ballinrobe back-line and the Sligo lads scored some good tries as space opened up and opportunities were availed of. Indeed there was an even distribution of tries scored between backs and forwards and Sligo ended up convincing winners.

Sligo coaches also gave the entire bench some valuable playing experience as the game unfolded and continued the policy of trying players in different playing positions.

A notable statistic was the low number of lineouts in the game as both teams, for different reasons, kept the ball in play. To their credit the young Mayo team never gave up trying to make a game of it. Missing a few forward players had a telling effect on their performance and the physique and talent of the Sligo lads was just too much to withstand on this occasion.

Sligo Team: Enda Gavin, Caomhan Lyons, Eoin Flanagan, Will Weaver, Enda Roche, Kieran Blake, Ross Gordon, Martin Davey (Capt.), Philip Moriarty, Matthew Davey, Ben Spelman, Jonathan Draper, David Verdon, Martin Clarke, Sean Donnelly.

Replacements: Barry Brennan, Diarmuid O’Dowd Hill, Patrick Saba, Eoin Kilroy, Brian Simon, James Rooney, Ryan Coyne, Michael Martin, James Mullen (injured).

More photos from the game can be found here. Please note that you can now also choose to purchase prints of most of the photos in the club gallery.