Tag Archives: Final

U14s pipped at the post for league title

Sligo 5 – Corinthians 8
Sligo RFC U14s played an enthralling League Final against Corinthians in Castlebar Saturday last.  Conditions were dry but dominated by a stiff breeze, which backed Sligo in the first half. 

Sligo U14s were runners-up in the league final last Saturday

Sligo dominated from the kick-off and established a foothold in the Corinthians 22. Constant pressure resulted in an enterprising backs’ move and a try by Sligo’s Ronan O’ Hehir, giving Sligo a 5- 0 lead at half-time.
Corinthians started the second half strongly and eventually levelled the score and subsequently added a penalty to lead 8-5 with 15 minutes to go. From there to the finish of the match, the Sligo U14 warriors pinned Corinthians in their own half and crossed the try line twice with both efforts ruled out by the referee. Lady luck was not on Sligo’s side and Corinthians rode their luck to hold out to the final whistle. 

Sligo U14s attack the Corinthians line

Sligo U14s on the attack

Joe Walsh’s charges now turn their focus to the quarter-final cup match away to Buccaneers, on Saturday March 2nd.

Sligo U14s:  Conor Clinton, Keelin Schoen, James Horan, Tom Walsh, Arran Platt, Max Hunter, Ambrose Bamber, Malachi Cullen, Jacob Kilcoyne, Oisin O’ Neill, Conor Creavan, Oisin Conlon, Ronan O’ Hehir, Oliver O’ Riordan, Robert O’ Kelly Lynch, Michael Honeyman, Aran Gilligan, Colm McGonagle, Ross Clifford, Lochlan Jordan, Ben Hayden, Alex Harte, Stefan Roche, Matthew Gallagher, Senan Fallon 

No Joy for Sligo in the Sportsgrounds

Sligo RFC Development Squad 7 – Ballina RFC 43

Sligo’s dream of capturing the 2018 Connacht Junior Cup fell short with defeat to a strong Ballina outfit in the final at the Sportsgrounds in Galway on Sunday afternoon.

With Ballina having already secured the Junior league title and a place in the All Ireland League qualifying round robin series Sligo entered the game as rank outsiders. Despite the underdog status Sligo started the game brightly and strong carrying from Jamie Bowes and Ross Hickey was causing trouble in the Ballina defence. The early scrums were strong with Ross O’Boyle and Craig Adams proving a handful and David Cawley and Christian Nielsen were effective in the loose. Continue reading

Connacht Senior Cup Final set for Hamilton Park

The Connacht Senior Cup has been played for a total of 102 times, with twelve different clubs having won the trophy during that period.  All finals have traditionally been played in Galway, either in the then Galway Grammar School, or Galway Sportsground.  However, for the first time in its 122 year history, the Connacht Senior Cup will be held in Sligo.  The date has been set for Saturday 16th December and Sligo is gearing itself for an historic day, vying to win the cup for the first time since 1914.

U15: Connacht Final Report

After a very strong performance from Sligo in the league semi against Claremorris Sligo went into Saturdays final full of confidence. The game was fixed for Ballyhaunis and the Sligo Supporters travelled in large numbers on what was perfect conditions for rugby.

Sligo RFC’s Max King in action v Ballinasloe

Ballinasloe started the stronger with multiple attacks but Sligo defence were up for the challenge with some excellent play from the pack. After 14 mins Ballinasloe did manage to break the gain line to score their first try but fail to convert. Sligo responded with a well worked try from Daire Cregg supported by Louie Scott, Cregg converted leaving the score at 7 – 5 to Sligo. Sligo attacked again but Ballinasloe intercepted the pass which was going to Rowan Elliot and the Ballinasloe no 14 ran 50 meters to score his second try.

Sligo RFC’s Jim Davies going for a try in the semi final win v Claremorris

In the second half Ballinasloe applied a huge amount of pressure on the Sligo defence to score their third try leaving the score at 17 to 7. For the 20 mins Sligo dominated scoring a excellent try by Daire Cregg which was converted by Jim Davies, at 9 mins to go Sligo were 3 behind and had the momentum and Ballinasloe were beginning to tire, unfortunately a few mistakes by Sligo allowed Ballinasloe in for their fourth try leaving the final score at 22 to 14. The Sligo squad performed brilliantly on the day against a very strong Ballinasloe side who have won the Connacht league final for the last three years with this group of players.

Now that the League is over the Cup campaign begins with an away game against the winners of Loughrea V Tuam, where a win would see Sligo come up against Ballinsloe in the second round in Strandhill.

Sligo: Damien Cullen, Ben Millar, Stephen Doyle, Michael Broaders, Danny Funke, Cathal Feely, Diarmuid Brennan, Calum Wall, Max King, Fintan Casey, Joseph Keaney, Louis Scott, Brian Marren, Dáire Cregg, Marc O’Hehir, Finn Young, Liam O’Kelly Lynch, Matthew Blain, Matthew Moroney, Patrick Dixon, Patryk Badowski, Conor McDermott, Sean Hynes, Gavin McGrath, Colm Lang, Mark McGlynn, Matthew O’Hara, Jake McNiff, Sean Hynes, Jack Carroll