Semi Final Dissapointment for Sligo

Buccaneers RFC 22

Sligo RFC 5 

Sligo’s hopes of lifting the Connacht Senior cup were dashed at the penultimate stage with a defeat to Buccaneers in the semi final in Dubarry Park on Saturday. 

The hosts outscored the visitors by three trys to one in a well contested encounter. 

Sligo’s cause was not helped with a long list of absentees through injury and illness but the team that took to the the field gave a good account of themselves against an outfit the play in a division above Sligo in the All Ireland League. 

The pitch at Dubarry park was heavy when the teams crossed the whitewash but both sides signalled their intent to move the ball in the early stages. The strong breeze favoured the hosts in the first half and Sligo found it difficult to exit their own half in the early stages. 

Buccaneers fired the first shot with a successful penalty kick  after 13 minutes but minutes later Sligo were the first to breach the tryline.

Brendan Cunningham cleverly collected a Bucc’s clearance outside the Sligo 22 and opted to counter attack to the 10 metre line. James O’Hehir and Eoin Ryan combined well before Kuba Wojtkowicz set off on a barnstorming run the brought Sligo to the Buccs 10 meter line. A quick recycle saw the ball moved to Enda Gavin who released Calum Goddard. Goddard’s well timed pass gave Ryan Feehily the chance to round the defending winger before excellent footwark stood up the fullback and the Sligo centre raced in to score. 

Unfortunately for Sligo this was to be the only time the the scoreboard was moved in their favour.

Buccaneers retook the lead on 25 minutes with a touchdown following a clever chip through and extended their lead with another opportunist score from a well place cross kick just before half time. 

Both sides hunted for scores in the second half but it was the locals that were the only ones to increase their tally with a try on 75 minutes following a sustained period of pressure. 

Next week Sligo resume Energia All Ireland league action with the much anticipated visit of Blackrock College RFC. The meetings of the two clubs have always been close affairs, with plenty of drama, and late scores deciding the outcomes. Another cracking game is anticipated. The match kicks off at 2.30 on Saturday.

Sligo: Calum Goddard, Enda Gavin, Ryan Feehily, Aaron Spring, Finn Young, Guilherme Coghetto, Brendan Cunningham, Eddie Coyle, Matthew Earley, Craig Trimble, Eoin Ryan, Kuba Wojtkowicz, James O’Hehir, Brian West, Cristian Nielsen. Reps Aaron Tansey, Jake Sexton, Sean Wynne, Jacob Fleming, Jack Gormely,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.