J1A: Sligo v Westport

Sligo RFC 17 – Westport RFC 10

The Sligo Development Team made it two wins from two to carry their momentum upon returning to the Connacht J1a League.

This was a hard-fought win in tough blustery conditions in Hamilton Park. The first half was a tight affair with Sligo playing into the wind. Sligo took the lead through the robust Garry O’ Hehir. After a series of forays to the Westport line with strong carries from Craig Adams and David Cawley. The ever opportunist O’Hehir made a pacey snipe from the base of the ruck catching the Westport team off guard and dotting down for 5.

In the second half and with a strong wind behind them the Westport Bulls found themselves with a lot more possession and territory and eventually after a strong break up the guts snagged themselves a converted try. Sligo fought back and with impact from the bench in the form of the Strandhill Velociraptor’s Liam Mc Elhinney and Sean Wynne, we began to take a foothold in the game and after some pressure our talismanic Skipper Mat Davey powered over with a real captain’s effort.

Westport tied the scores up with a penalty from the half way line to leave the scores even at 10 each and with 10 to go. Sligo’s fitness shone through in the last quarter and we seemed to find an extra gear when needed. After some great expansive play in tough conditions the winning try was scored by Brian Mullen, who backed himself to outpace his opposite number and then cut inside the last defender to seal the game for Sligo.

Craig Adams, Ross O’Boyle, Aaron Tansey, Micheal Mc Morrow, David Cawley, Mat Davey ©, Simon Coulter, Jake Sexton, Garry O Hehir, Enda Gavin, Brian Mullen, Sean Mullin, Andrew Blannin, Charlie Cooper, Niall Gray. Reserves: Shane Mc Guinness, Liam Mc Elhinney, Sean Wynne, Julian Ripon, Carl Van Rensburg.

Leave a Reply