Impressive U-13's Qualify For Connacht Cup Semi-Final

Sligo 30 :: Creggs 7

Sligo’s U-13 team gave a very impressive display when they defeated Creggs in the Connacht U-13 Cup quarter final at Hamilton Park on Friday last. They are away to the winners of the Buccaneers V Westport tie in the semi-final.

Despite having to contend with a very heavy pitch and almost arctic weather conditions, Sligo played some excellent rugby. The fact that they called on all their replacements in the second half, and continued to play to their patterns, is testimony to the strength in depth in the panel. Sligo played against the wind in the first half, but led by 20-7 at the interval, having scored three tries. They added two further tries in the second period to win comfortably over a gallant Creggs side, which fought bravely to the end.

The star of the Sligo side was No 8, James O’Hehir, who capped an outstanding performance by scoring three very fine tries. The side’s other scorers were Jason McGoldrick and Matthew Davey, a try each, while out-half, Conor Kerins landed a penalty and a conversion.

Sligo’s pack did some great work, and the front row of Aaron Donnellan, Killian Filan and Matthew Davey dominated in the scrums. The second row partnership of David Connell and Jamie McGovern performed very well, while Leigh Dunne and captain, Andrew Nairn completed a fine back row with James O’Hehir.

Behind the scrum, inside centre, Jason McGoldrick, created havoc with his straight running. Out-half, Conor Kerins showed a lot of skill and received a good service from scrum-half, Cian Mulligan. Wingers, Darragh Burke and Edward Weaver were very dangerous when in possession, while full-back, Eoin Kilroy-Talbot and centre, Sean Finnegan also played well. As stated, the substitutes all made an impact, with Mark Leydon, Gabriel Knecht, Peter Murray and Alex Steward being particularly impressive. Well done to the management trio of Michael O’Hehir, Finbar Filan and John Quinn, who had the squad so well prepared,and they will look forward to the semi-final with optimism.

Sligo: Eoin Kilroy-Talbot, Darragh Burke, Sean Finnegan, Jason McGoldrick, Edward Weaver, Conor Kerins, Cian Mulligan, Aaron Donnellan, Killian Filan, Matthew Davey, David Connell, Jamie McGovern, Andrew Nairn [c.], James O’Hehir, Leigh Dunne. Subs: Aaron Mulligan, Alex Steward, Cian-Allen-Kilroy, Gabriel Knecht, Peter Murray, Stephen Martyn, Tyrone Wynne, Oisin Kilroy, Mark Leydon, Paul Mahon, Jack Selby, Dylan Feeney.